What is polyamory?

“Polyamory  (from Greek πολυ [ poly , meaning many or several] and Latin amor  [literally “love”]) is the desire, practice, or acceptance of having more than one loving, intimate relationship at a time with the full knowledge and consent of everyone involved. The term polyamory is sometimes abbreviated to poly , and is sometimes described as consensual, ethical,  or responsible non-monogamy . The word is sometimes used more broadly to refer to relationships that are not sexually exclusive, though there is disagreement on how broadly it applies.

Polyamory can refer to the practice or status of a relationship at a given time, or used as a description of a lifestyle, philosophy or relationship orientation (much like gender orientation), rather than of an individual’s actual relationship status at a given moment. It is an umbrella term that covers many orientations and modes of relationship. There is fluidity in its definition to accommodate the different shades of meaning which might be covered. Polyamorous relationships are themselves varied, reflecting the choices and philosophies of the individuals concerned.”

You can find the rest of this at: http://www.reference.com/browse/polyamory

I decided to start this blog because I wanted to be able to put all my findings about polyamory in one place as well as talk about my own relationship. Albeit, semi-anonymously. I am finding that I need a way to vent and possibly connect with other “couples” that are in similar situations. Each day is a new day, a new trial, a new reward. Dating one person is hard, dating two is …. wow. There are times I feel like I am literally going crazy.

With all that being said….Welcome to my blog. Or my ramblings….however you decide to take it 🙂

Leave a comment